Five!

Miles turned five last Wednesday. Five. It’s finally starting to sink in. When Miles was born five years ago (yes, I was blogging way back when!), I used to imagine who he would be and what he would be like as he grew; now I am watching him become a smart, curious, imaginative, increasingly independent boy right before my eyes. It’s fun. It’s also a little bit daunting. The past four birthdays, while certainly special, never seemed quite so monumental. He was getting older, sure, but he was still my baby. “Toddler,” “preschooler”—these terms still felt baby-ish to me, and I was okay with that. The physical proximity of a mother to her young child ensures a certain closeness in the relationship as well, but as our kids grow, our relationships become much more complex. They are individuals, and they increasingly make that fact known to us. We have to work harder for that closeness. I’m finding that Miles and I butt heads with much greater frequency lately, but at the same time, my love for him has never been deeper. We talk now. Real conversations about important things (goofy conversations too!) He has opinions and ideas and quirks. He surprises me every day.

Last year, we made a little birthday book in which Miles answered a few questions and drew little pictures. I thought it would be fun to continue the tradition and compare how he has changed in the last year. Miles, at five:
• I am special because… “I am really good at reading.” (he is!)
• What is your favorite thing to do? “Play iPad games.”
• What do you want to do when you grow up? “I’m going to be an author. You can call me Miles Seuss. Or a person who works at Superior.” (Where his dad works)
• What is your favorite color? “Any kind of blue.”
• What is your favorite animal? “Penguins.”
• who is your best friend? “Zeke!”
• What is your favorite food? “Cheese. But I don’t like spicy fish.”
• I love my family because… “They are always nice to me.”
• What is your favorite book? “The Magic Schoolbus in Outer Space.”
• What is your favorite place? “Fun City and my clubhouse.” (His clubhouse is the magnolia tree in our yard)
• Sometimes I wish I could… “Let the kitties in Mom’s studio.”
• When I am six, I will… “Read really, really long books.”

Five is exciting. Five also brings about some tough decisions about Miles’s education. Stephen and I have always considered the possibilty of home schooling our kids. It’s not a far-off possibilty anymore though, and we facing the point where we have to make a decision. Yes or no. Will we or won’t we. And as Miles becomes more independent, I am realizing the importance of including him in the decsion making process. We have a bit more time, and we have yet to decide for sure, but I will say that we are leaning more heavily than ever in the direction of home schooling. Our reasons are many and complex, and I will probably discuss them in more detail later (or not. Maybe.), but this is a Birthday post, so on with the celebration!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Party prep: lemonade in the making.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug I wanted Legos. He wanted Star Wars (he has never even seen Star Wars). We compromised. And I bought a cake.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Smile nice for the camera? Not a chance! (Love that goofy face anyways!)

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Happy Birthday, Miles!

3 thoughts on “Five!

  1. What a sweet birthday post! My little guy just turned 7. And for years I struggled with the same things you are — should I homeschool him (and his sister)? I LOVE doing projects with my kids, our playroom is basically a craft room. I love having our own schedule to explore parks and museums. I don’t get that as much these days and that’s hard. Just school vacations and holidays. It’s so fun to share these times with them. Yet… in the end, we decided public school was a good route for us. He’s in 1st grade now, and there have been some challenges indeed. Some strong enough that I’ve come close to pulling him out more than once! But as you said, our little boys are getting just old enough to have some of their own input, and though I didn’t phrase it like that to my son, I take into account how he is at the end of the day. He comes out smiling. Jostling with his little friends. And he learns so many wonderful things in school. I am not speaking in either pros or cons, but I can see the love you have for your own little guy and just wanted to drop a line to say that it’s clear how much you love him! And I know you’ll make the best decision for him and your family. The thing about these decisions, I’ve learned, is that they’re not set in stone. I did decide to send my kids to preschool, but then my daughter suffered through a horrible incident at hers — and I had to withdraw them. My son was ready to hop right into another preschool (a wonderful blessing, really, as the teachers were so caring and fun), but my daughter ended up spending the rest of the year, more than half of it left, home with me. So I look at these decisions as flexible. 🙂 I can send him to school, and I can change that if I need or want to. Remember that you have a choice — even after you make your choice. And happy birthday to your little boy!

  2. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for the reminder that decisions can be flexible. You’re right. I guess I know the decision does not have to be set in stone, it just feels like it sometimes because it is such a big decision! And if it were as easy as just listing pros and cons, we would already have an answer. Glad to hear that your son is thriving at school!

Leave a Reply

