More about this week

I have really been trying not to let the winter doldrums win. But then our furnace went and quit working on us. This is Arkansas, Y’all (me trying to emphasize the southern-ness of my state for effect). It is not supposed to get this cold here! I mean, single digits? Zero??? (I realize my Wyoming family has no sympathy. None).

So here I am, camped out by the fireplace that warms, oh, a five foot radius of this drafty old house. Blogging and knitting into the wee hours of the night because it is warmer than going to bed.

Really though, it has been a good week. A few snaps of our week:

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug More of Zeke and his train book, because this might be the cutest thing I have ever seen.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Never mind. Zeke + train book + kitty snuggles is definitely cuter.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Pretty birthday sunsets.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug I think I am going to like thirty-one.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Zeke at the Crystal Bridges kid’s studio. There were elementary, middle and high school field trips going on the day we visited, so it was NUTS, but we did have a few quiet moments between throngs of kids.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Zeke was especially fond of the puppet theater. This kid is an animal sounds whiz!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Miles was more interested in art-making, and spent a good 45 minutes crafting an elaborate collaged bookmark.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug My museum fave. Of course.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug A little project Miles and I worked on this week. Wooden coins, acrylic paint, typewritten words and phrases, and mod-podge. I made a similar set of “art-starters” for my classroom back when I was teaching, but they work equally well for storytelling or writing prompts. Each color is either a “who,” a “what,” or a “where.” Just pick one of each to get your story rolling! Miles LOVES them!

Leave a Reply

