Lately

Hello, little neglected blog. I’ve missed you. I’ve got so many thoughts swirling around in my head; so many little details of these precious days that I want to document and remember. When life seems hectic and overwhelming, it’s easy to get in the habit of a little picture post-and-run (hello, instagram! Which I love, btw, but which also has caused my to put aside my real camera for days (weeks?!) at a time, and which has also contributed to the lack of writing going on in my life). Writing has always been theraputic for me. I remember as a shy and very socially awkward teen writing letters that would never be sent, to people I would never have the courage to confront myself. I guess there is still a bit of that girl in me. There is something about the act of writing that helps me articulate myself in a way that Is otherwise difficult for me. On this blog, I have written my way through some of the most heartbreaking times of my life, and found healing. I have written through some scary times and found a network of support. I have written through confusing times and found clarity. And I have written through some beautiful times and captured fleeting moments that I will cherish always. So anyways, I miss writing. And I want to make it part of my life again.

So where to start? Well, how about with right now and what I know best. These boys of mine. These boys that are growing, learning, and changing daily. Hourly, even. It’s facinating to me, watching them explore the world around them as they start to figure it out. That moment when something clicks and you see it in their eyes, their smile? Yeah, that. Motherhood is hard and often frustrating, exhausting, confusing…. but those moments are my fuel and my reward.

I have decided (because everyone else is doing it! But really, because it’s a good idea) to do a little 52 photo/writing project about my boys. A (real camera!) portrait ever week for a year, capturing them right now. What they love, what they hate, what they are learning and doing, a funny story perhaps… I want to pay more attention to those little quirks that make my boys their wonderful unique little selves and document them before they move on to some new thing and I forget…

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
Shape stamping with Zeke. This one is constantly surprising me with what he knows. When did he learn shapes? “Shays,” he calls them. I don’t know, but he knows them. Ask him for a circle, square or triangle, and he’ll reach for it. I only recently began painting with Zeke, which I feel incredibly guilty about since I am a former art teacher, and especially since Miles has had a paintbrush in his hand since before he could walk. I guess since it’s easier to supervise one messy art-maker at a time, I have just got in the habit of waiting for Zeke’s nap to get out the paint. Not anymore.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMugMiles’s newest adventure? Piano lessons! He got a bunch of beginner books for Christmas, and we finally had a chance to start working on a few lessons this week. He’s had three so far, and is doing great. He even practices on his own initiative. He was practicing after his very first lesson, and he came running for me. “Mom, I can play Canon D!” (Pachabel’s Canon in D is his favorite request for me to play) he had picked out the first several notes of the bass clef completely by ear! Talk about a proud mama moment! I can’t wait to see where this goes!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

A few other random moments:
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Thrifting. It’s my thing.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug I have a love-hate relationship with winter. I’m really bad about the short-days winter doldrums. Every year they get me. Over the years I have learned that the only way to beat them is to get outside. Everyday, even for a minute. Even if it’s cold and you don’t want to. Especially if it’s cold and you don’t want to. Just. Do. It. Winter may not have all the fresh new-ness of spring, the long, lazy, sunshiny days of summer, or the colorful splash of fall, but it has a beauty all it’s own if you choose to look for it. Tree sillhouettes, the tingly nip of cold that makes me feel awake and alive, the way the flash of a red cardinal in the trees looks unrealistically bright against the monochromatic backdrop of the forest… beauty.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Just one of the girls. I must say, I am really enjoying having chickens in my life again, even if these will be the most expensive eggs we’ve ever eaten.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug 🙂

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug I need to get back into documenting my projects with the real camera too! This is just one of many WIPs i have going on: knit bunnies for my two newest neices, adopted into my sister’s family next month, if all goes smoothly! The pattern is Little Cotton Rabbits (on Ravelry), knit with Hobby Lobby brand 100% cotton yarn. One down, one to go!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug and a little re-visit to a long neglected quilt, the grandmother’s flower garden I started last summer on our road trip. Only floral prints, only stash fabric (other than the yellow centers. I will also eventually have to purchase some more background white)

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

I have several other projects that need photographing, but I was interrupted by the end of naptime.

Until next time!

One thought on “Lately

  1. It is so easy to forget when life gets away. I always put mine on the back burner probably when I need to write the most. Really helps to write it down and get it out and a wonderful community between these little spaces and Instagram. Blessed to have such support 🙂 I am glad you are writing again, sure nice to read your thoughts as so many feelings of raising a young family are relateable. Have a wonderful day and happy writing Jodean. Beautiful photos as always 🙂

Leave a Reply

