A Very Merry Christmas

This year’s Christmas moments bullet list:
• I thought the boys would rush out to the living room to open toys at the crack of dawn- but they didn’t. Instead, they climbed up in bed with us and snuggled (and jumped and rough-housed) for a good half hour before we finally practically dragged them to the tree. Good stuff:)
• When we finally got them out to the living room, they both went straight for the desks that were made for them by a sweet older man at our church. Just because. I was super excited about this gift, both because of the sentiment with which it was given, and the fact that the tops lift up so we could stuff ’em with art supplies (of course!)
• Stephen and I spent the two nights before Christmas (and several other nights over the past month) up till well after midnight putting the finishing touches on the chicken coop so that the boys could help up move the hens out on Christmas morning. I told Stephen that if moving the chickens out of my bathroom was the only present I got this Christmas, I would be happy. He took me up on that. And I am happy:) To be fair, he did get me a handsaw for our anniversary (which I used to cut every piece of trim on the darn coop!) I am superwoman. Also, power tools make me nervous.
• The boys LOVE the chickens (which my sister gave us as a surprise housewarming gift) and were excited to help us move them into the coop. Zeke has little conversations with the hens, and it is the cutest thing to watch!
• After moving the hens out, we spent Christmas lunch with Stephen’s family at his (maternal) grandparents’ house. I always love watching Miles around his older cousins; he adores them! This year, cousin Veronica let him play on her iPhone. They are best buds now:) We still have two more Christmas get-togethers before the season is over: one at Stephen’s other grandparents’, and one at his sister’s. Big family get-togethers were new for me when we were first married– and I love them! I grew up in a military family and extended family was always far away. These celebrations with Stephen’s family always make me miss having my family nearby. One of these days, if I can convince Stephen to head north into the brutal cold that is winter in Wyoming, we’ll spend Christmas with my family, until then I will settle for the Fourth of July;)
• This year we were more grateful for one another, and mindful of how fleeting this life is, as we learned that a dear friend of our family passed away just before Christmas. Joe Terry was a wonderfully kind and sweet man; a friend and mentor to Stephen (they were always scheming up some grand car or woodworking project idea!), and an honorary grandpa to all the kids at our church, ours boys included. Papa Joe, as we all called him, will be greatly missed.

And now, a few pictures from our Christmas:

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug annual reading by the tree shot

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug this was our first Christmas in the new (old) house, and I had fun decorating (around the rennovations-in-progress). I love my newly finished linen drapes!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug desks for the boys, made just for them by our friend Don

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug always lots of books under the tree

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug love, love, LOVE this picture of the boys!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug I ran across these Nativity finger puppets from last year (that I didn’t finish until after Christmas) at the last minute, and stuffed them in the stockings.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug the big day; moving day for the chickens! We have 11 Americaunas and one lone Barred Rock

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug this is Bruce, the Barred Rock. She’s my fave. So sweet and docile, even when the boys are not-so gentle with her. (We’re working on that, btw)

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug if only you could hear Zeke giggling at this chicken as she peeked out at him!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug actually, its not quite finished- still missing a few trim pieces, a final coat of paint and a few shingles. But the chickens are out of my bathroom! Progress, folks…

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Zeke. Always a blur. Always.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Hope your Christmas was filled with goodness and light, joy and gratitude, and may your New Year be your best one yet!

Jodean

3 thoughts on “A Very Merry Christmas

  1. Beautiful photos. I love how you describe your Christmas. It seemed to peaceful. Ours was so hectic that we are feeling wiped afterwards. Next year we are going for simple and staying home for Christmas. Love the coop. Great finishing touches. Happy new year!!

  2. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! What a beautiful day you had— love the photos of your boys by the tree. And that is one gorgeous chicken coop! I cant imagine having chickens in the bathroom— I bet you are so excited to have the space to yourself again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

