Zeke turns two!

Last Sunday evening, Zeke had a bit of a cold and consequently, was in a super cuddly mood. Which is unusual for him (both the cold and the cuddles). He is usually on the go all of the time, never pausing for more than a moment or two and maybe a quick hug. But Sunday, he snuggled into my neck, wrapped his little arms around me and held me tight as I rocked him to sleep. I sat there long after he fell asleep on that birthday-eve, relishing this rare time with him, and reflecting on his birth, and the two years he has been in our lives. (And that, of course, led to looking back through old photographs and becoming a sentimental mess…)

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Zeke was probably one of the most ultrasound-photographed baby ever (biweekly ultrasounds for a good portion of the pregnancy, first because of preterm labor concerns, then ACC diagnosis and followups)

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug one of my favorite pictures EVER!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug tiny Zeke in the NICU

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug first week home

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug one year ago on his first birthday

My pregnancy with Zeke seems like another lifetime ago. I am so far removed from that scared, anxious woman I was then. I know so much more now (and still know so little). And I am coming to terms with not having to know everything. Of course I still have those regular Mommy worries, but Zeke is just Zeke. And he’s perfect. And right now, I am amazed just watching him unfurl and blossom into the fiesty, fearless, goofy, energetic, tenacious little boy that is Zeke.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug Two!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug A little dirt-themed birthday shin-dig for my messy boy:)

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

At two, Zeke is a running, climbing, (oh the climbing! that scares this Mama to no end!), mischief-making, giggling, jabbering, firecracker. He knows probably two dozen words, favorites being no, mine, down (whenever he is being held), and moo. Every animal moos, apparently. Other words include Mama, Daddy, kitty, chicken (more like tikk-ah), cookie, cracker (kakk-ah), ball, block, shoes, done, bite, milk, cow, nose, toes, eye, mouth (mou), bye-bye, car, train (sounds nothing like train really, but he has a consistant word for it), puppy, baby, night-night, shirt, go, sit down, get down (he hears the last two a lot!), apple (babble), grape (gape)… I’m sure I’m forgetting a few. He can also nod his head yes and shake his head no to answer simple questions.

He still walks a little straight-legged and tippy-toed (it’s awfully cute even if he’s not supposed to), but he has gotten pretty quick at it and is hard to keep up with. Thankfully, he still prefers his stroller or sling when we’re out and about, or I’d spend my days chasing him!

He’s a meat-eater, but open to a huge variety of fruits, veggies and other foods. (total opposite of Miles, who would live on bread and apples if I let him). Some of his favorite foods (besides meat of any kind) are eggs, oatmeal, grapes, strawberries, yogurt, beans, peas, broccoli, and cheese. He is no longer nursing, but he loves to drink whole milk. I intended to nurse him until 2ish like I did with Miles, but my unexpected hospital stay earlier in the year messed us up, and we just never quite did get it worked back out after that. He pretty much self-weaned a couple months later (maybe 16 months or so?) I’m very grateful for the time he was able to nurse though, and I credit it for the fact that he has had no preemie-related health issues whatsoever.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Zeke is his big brother’s shadow, following him around everywhere and attempting to do everything he does. He gets so frustrated when he can’t, but I’ve never seen such tanacity as I see in this kid! He’s gonna figure that tricycle out, by golly.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

He loves playing at the park, and our new neighbordood park is next to the train tracks, so he gets the bonus of watching the trains go by. The conductor even waved at us the other day (big deal around here, I tell ya!). He loves being outdoors in general–going for walks or hikes. He also loves animals, trucks, hotwheels cars (one clenched in each fist. always. even while sleeing), dancing, “playing” the piano or harmonica, scribbling with crayons, “helping” in the kitchen or with laundry, and aything that has to do with water.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

I just love this little boy so! Watching him (and big brother) grow and learn and explore this big wide world is the greatest privilege of my life!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Leave a Reply

