Quilt fair time

(A little behind on posting here. Like a month. Apologies.)

This year was my second to have a quilt in the Ozark quilt fair, and once agian, it was finished just barely in time. I am, by nature, a hardcore procrastinator. And so, in the wee hours of one chilly morning, by lanternlight (we were still in the camper and the babes were sleeping) the final stitches were made and the final threads trimmed. She was washed up in the campground laundromat (much to my hand-wringing anxiety) and dried on a clothesline strung up between two trees before her big debut at the fair:

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

It occurs to me that I never really blogged much about her. She is “Stars and Stripes” from the book Hexagogo by Tacha Bruecher. The hexies are all handsewn (whew…) and the entire quilt is hand quilted. And, even though she didn’t win at the fair (there was some stiff competition), I really love how she turned out. I forsee many a Fourth of July picnic with this quilt spread out beneath us. Yes.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Some of the other vintage and contemporary lovelies on display at the fair:

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
this quilt had quite a story!

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
This one sure is a gem. Oh, and the Grandmother’s flower garden behind him is lovely too 😉

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
this simple Prairie Braid was one of my favorites

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
and this one

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
Live bluegrass music? Yes, please.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
all tuckered out after a fun day at the Ozark quilt fair

I have about three quilts in the works right now, but I’m not in too big of a hurry on any of them (two of them are scrap quilts that I work on a bit at a time as I gather scraps). I think one finished hand-quilted quilt per year feels just about right for this season of my life. In think next year’s fair quilt will be an orange and cream two-color evening star. See you next year!

Leave a Reply

