A beautiful day for a quilt fair, and other randomness

Last Saturday was the annual Ozark Quilt Fair at the Shiloh museum. We have gone every year since we discovered it a few years ago, but this was the first year that I actually entered a quilt. I was a little nervous displaying my work with so many seasoned quilters around -this was only my second quilt after all! It was a lot of fun though, and I got some great feedback. I just love the folksy, laid-back atmosphere, and it is always inspiring to see so many beautiful quilts (I especially loved the vintage quilts!)


Zeke knows how to take full advantage of a cozy quilt!

LOVED the music by Shout LuLu! After listening to them play all morning, I briefly considered adding “learn to play banjo” to my list of things to do before I turn 30. That list is growing short on time though, and is still rather long on things to check off. I think I’ll save the banjo for 31. 😉

And the weather?!? We couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful weekend! It was actually cool enough in the morning to break out my oak leaf cardigan for the first time since I finished it (horrible timing to finish a sweater during a record-setting summer heatwave!) It really does deserve a post of its own after all that work, but I’ll throw in a little sneak-peak:

This time of year is always so busy, and while I love this season and all the activities it brings I know it is also important to balance the craziness with plenty of intentionally quiet family moments too. We have been trying to make a point to do just that, and Labor Day weekend was a refreshing break for all of us (I know, I know, I’m all out of order here!). Time off work is a rare treat for Stephen lately (have I mentioned lately how much I appreciate my amazing, hard working man? ‘Cause I do!) so we decided to make the most of it with some much needed down time at home. We just hung out- I did some lovely sitting and quilting while Stephen and Miles worked on one of their guy projects in the garage, and Zeke was content to scoot his way around the house getting into all manner of mischeif (yes, he’s army-crawling now, and he’s into everything! Apparently realizing there is a dish of cat food and water on the floor in the kitchen was all the motivation he needed to get moving!) We finished out the weekend with an impromptu picnic and swim at Lake Wedington, so I leave you with a few pictures of our weekend:


On the move!


what better way to finish out the summer than with an ice-cold glass of homemade lemonade?


sharing. makes my heart happy:)


Zeke LOVED the water! I don’t think I have ever seen him so excited!

Hey, I’m almost caught up on posts now 😉

2 thoughts on “A beautiful day for a quilt fair, and other randomness

  1. Pingback: Lately… | Crazy Wonderful Life

Leave a Reply

