Mom

I had this post all written up for Mother’s Day, but didn’t get around to posting it amidst all the hustle and bustle of a wonderful Mother’s Day with Stephen’s family. I almost decided just to skip it since It’s so late, but you know what? This is my blog, and I can post three days late if I want to:)

I don’t think I ever truly appreciated my Mom until one sunny Thursday moring three years ago, at 9:33, when a tiny, sweet miracle was placed in my arms. One look. One moment. I finally got it. This is what it means to love someone with every single bit of your soul, this is the love she feels for me. Not because I deserve it. Not because I was always such a helpful/polite/respectful/obedient/cute/charming child and teenager (although surely I was! πŸ˜‰ ) She loves me simply because I am her child and she is my mother. Suddenly, I was looking back on my childhood through a new lens, recognizing all the moments of selfless, unconditional love tht I all too often took for granted at the time. My mother was and is the most important woman in my life; my teacher, my mentor, my encourager, my cheerleader, my biggest fan, my inspiration, my example, my friend…

Happy mother’s day!

One thought on “Mom

Leave a Reply

