Six Months

The day Ezekiel was born (SIX months ago next week! Where does the time go?!?) was probably the most nerve-wracking day of my life. We knew our son would be born with a congenital brain disorder- Agenesis of the Corpus Callosum- but we didn’ know what, if any associated conditions he might have, or how it might complicate his delivery. Add to that the fact that he decided to make his entrance five weeks earlier than expected, and you can imagine that I was quite a mess! Much of my memory of the day is a blur, but the one moment that is etched in my mind was the few precious seconds I got to hold him before he was whisked away to the NICU. I have never been more terrified in my life, but the moment I looked into those deep blue eyes I knew: everything was going to be okay. There was still so much I didn’t know at the time, and really still don’t know, but I just knew that this fiesty little boy was going to be be okay.

Agenesis of the Corpus Callosum is such a strange disorder- the way it affects some so mildly they would never know they were missing an entire structure of the brain but for some MRI images while others battle difficult developmental, social, and cognitive challenges their entire lives. I try to look at Zeke and just see my little boy, but it’s hard not to wonder what challenges may lie ahead for him. I try to avoid comparing him to what I remember Miles doing at six months, or what other babies his age are doing, but at the same time, I want to recognize any potential areas where he may need extra support now, while he is still young. Like I said, there is still so much we don’t know…

But what I do know is that at 6 months old, Ezekiel is a happy, vibrant, amazing little boy. His smiles, giggles and coos melt the hearts of everyone who knows him (including, and especially, his Mama!) He loves snuggling, listening to music, playing with different textured fabrics, putting everything into his mouth, and he absolutely adores his big brother. His biggest smiles are always reserved for Miles, and his face lights up anytime brother enters the room. Yes, he seems to be slightly delayed reaching a few of the developmental milestones, but he is also learning new things and making progress daily. He is going to physical therapy two times per week where his therapist is working with him on things like rolling over (he can roll belly to back, but not the other way just yet. Close though!), keeping his head in midline (he likes to keep it cocked to the left), reaching out to grasp toys, and strengthening his overall muscle tone.

What joy this litte guy has brought to our lives!


(Miles thought he needed a hat!)

One thought on “Six Months

Leave a Reply

