Doll making!

So, I think I want to be a doll maker when I grow up! Or at least that is the latest thing I have added to my already lengthy and ever growing list 😉

I first started looking for a doll for Miles when I was pregnant, and quickly decided that a department store doll was not for me. Lots of frilly pink (not that there is anything wrong with boys and pink…), lots of not-so-cuddly plastic, and all the same. I did find him an old (as in older than me!) Cabbage Patch doll at a yardsale that is pretty cool, and “Baby” has received lots of love over the past several months, but what I really wanted was a handmade doll. I drooled over the many gorgeous one-of-a-kind handmade dolls on Etsy, but they were well out of my price range, so I timidly started toying with the idea of making my own. Well, my first “practice” doll is finished, so without further ado, meet Amos:

Isn’t he adorable?!? I have to say, I really impressed myself 🙂 Not that he’s perfect. There are a few things I will change for the next one (already in progress!) but for my very first doll ever? Not too shabby!

He’s a Waldorf inspired doll. Made with all natural materials; cotton interlock skin, cotton clothes, wool stuffing and hair. I started with the Little Amigo pattern from the book Growing up Sew Liberated but it needs a bit more tweaking before I am totally pleased. Like shorter arms for starters…

Well, I’m off to crochet another doll wig! Oh my, this could get very addictive…

One thought on “Doll making!

Leave a Reply

