First checkup, and some good news!

Zeke has been home for one week now, and had his first checkup today. We learned that his chromosome tests finally came back and they are completely normal!! What does that mean? It means that his ACC is not genetic (which is good because it rules out many potential complications) and that the likelyhood of us having another child with ACC, should we choose to add to our family in the future, is extremely low. Our pediatrician also set up our referral to the pediatric nuerologist in Little Rock for Zeke’s MRI, which should happen in the next week or two.

Zeke is doing very well. He’s up to 6 lb 5 ounces now, so he is packing on the weight! Although at nearly one month old, he is still smaller than the average newborn 🙂 He has started to become much more alert the past couple of days, looking around and holding his head up for a couple of seconds at a time. And he isn’t waking up quite as frequently at night! He is such a cuddle bug when he is awake, and I am soaking it up all I can. I love this little guy so much!

I was really relieved to learn he has gained so much weight because we have been struggling a bit with breastfeeding. He got so used to taking breastmilk from a bottle while he was in the NICU that the transition to nursing once he came home as not gone as quickly/smoothly as I would have liked. But we are making progress. And he is gaining weight, which means we must be doing something right! We are down to pumping/bottle feeding just 2-3 times a day now, and nursing the rest of the time.

Miles is glad to have baby brother (and Mama!) home too. I thought the novelty of a new baby would have worn out for him by now, but he just adores Zeke. If there is one plus side to the bottle feeding, it is that Miles can help feed the baby. It is so sweet to finally see them together 🙂

4 thoughts on “First checkup, and some good news!

  1. I’m so glad to hear this happy report about sweet baby Zeke. It is such a relief knowing this isn’t genentically linked. I wish you guys the best and will continue to follow up. Cheers.

  2. I came across your blog while searching ACC info sites. First of all, congratulations on your beautiful baby boy! Second of all, your photography is amazing; you are very talented.
    I’m still working my way through your posts but after reading quite a few I felt the need to message you. I just gave birth on Dec. 3 to my 2nd son. When I was 23 weeks pregnant we learned he had ACC and a fetal MRI shortly after confirmed C-ACC that appears to be isolated. I too did the numerous ultrasounds to check his ventricles and as of the last, they remain borderline enlarged and therefore are not a concern. He was born perfect with Apgars of 8,9 &9. His reflexes and muscle tone appear to be on par for a newborn. We are breastfeeding and he has been a champ since day one (I too worried that he would have struggles with feedings). And after being unsuccessful with breastfeeding my first born, I too am determined to give my new baby the best I can and so far it seems to be working. My husband and I share the same worries you expressed that you and your husband have felt. Reading your posts is like reading my own thoughts. Thank you for sharing. It’s nice to know that we’re not alone and that someone else out there has recently experienced the same or similar thing.
    Best wishes to you and your beautiful family from Alberta, Canada

Leave a Reply

