Stitched with love…

My Grandma Jo taught me to knit when I was in 3rd grade… well, she taught me to crochet, and introduced me to knitting anyways. Crochet came almost effortlessly for me- not so with knitting. After she and I were both thoroughly frustrated, I stashed away the needles she gave me and didn’t even attempt knitting again for more than 10 years. I always hated that I didn’t stick with it, and after being tempted one to many times by all the beautiful knits I was seeing all around me, I decided to give it one more go a few years back. I’m so glad that I did! Knitting has become such a wonderful, calming place in my life. We were in the middle of a very stressful adoption at the time that sadly wasn’t meant to be, and I have knit my way through countless delimmas since then. Even now, when I am stressed, or worried, or confused about something, one of the first things I do is reach for my needles. I sit quietly and think or pray as I work, and stitch by stitch, row by row, things slowly seem to fall into place. Needless to say, I have been doing a LOT of knitting since our first ultrasound a couple of months ago (much of it in the wee hours of the morning) and I feel like I am in a really good place. With every stitch that passes my needles, I think about my son and who he will become. I love this boy so much already and I sense that he can feel that. I don’t know who he will become or what his diagnosis will mean for him as he grows, but that doesn’t matter. I am so excited to meet this little boy who has already changed my life so much (less than 8 weeks left to go!!!!). Good thing he’s a winter baby, because there will be no shortage of handknits to keep him warm!

Here are a few of the things that have been on my needles lately:

A sweater for Zeke:


Pattern: Little Bubbles from Knitpicks Yarn: Simply Cotton Sport 100% Organic Cotton in Camel, Malted Milk, Green Tea, and Prussian
You may remember a version of this sweater from last year -that one was passed on to my cousin- but I liked the finished sweater so much that I reordered the yarn for another one before I was even pregnant again. It is a really fun, satisfying little knit. I cast on while I was waiting during my 3 hour glucose tolerance test and it was finished less than two weeks later!


Pattern: Saartje’s booties (slightly modified) Yarn: Simply Cotton Sport (leftover from the sweater)

I just absolutely love how these turned out! How cute will these look on Zeke’s little feet?!? The buttons are some VERY old metal buttons I found in Grandma Jo’s stash. They make me very happy 🙂 I have since become addicted to this pattern (who doesn’t love a knit that is done, start to finish, in just a couple of hours or less?) and just finished my third pair tonight.

This blanket has been finished for over a year and just waiting for one final block. It was hard to finish, but something I really wanted to do. I made an initial block after Hope was born that I keep in here memory box, and now I can add the last piece to the blanket and snuggle it around Zeke in a few more weeks. There’s a lot of love waiting for him in those stitches!


Pattern: None (inspired by a circa 1970 patchwork blanket, but changed a LOT!) Yarn: Hobby Lobby “I Love This Cotton” 100% cotton

One more small project:

And some sewing just because:

(pocket diapers)

I’ve also got a couple more hats, a sleep sack, and a sweater for Miles “in progress,” so unless Zeke decides to come early and make my life really busy, you should be seeing more of my projects soon!

3 thoughts on “Stitched with love…

  1. So so beautiful! And I am very inspired by your knitting story. I put all of my needles away a few years ago and continually wonder if it is time to pass them on to someone else. This give me hope that they’re worth holding onto for a while longer!

  2. Please do give it one more chance! 🙂 One thing that helped me get past where I was stuck was watching videos on you tube. Everyone holds the yarn and needles a bit differently, and I realized that the way my Grandma showed me just didn’t work for me. I am very visual, so when I watched other people, something clicked. Good luck!

  3. Girl, Yours is the only blog I check out from time to time because you inspire me to be better. Your photography is awesome. I love that chicken pic you posted. I mean if you can make a chicken look good you are a lighting Godess. I just wanted to tell you wow I am impressed with your talent. Keep up being a good little mama to your boys.

Leave a Reply

