The good stuff

As I watch the news of the deadly tornadoes that have ripped through nearby areas of Joplin, Mo and Denning, AR over the last week, I can’t help but be reminded how lucky I am. Not just that my family has been spared from the latest severe weather, but for everything I have been blessed with. I mean, just look at this boy:

I can’t imagine how I would feel if I lost him. I can’t imagine how the families who have lost children, mothers, fathers, siblings, and dear friends must be feeling right now as they begin to pick up the pieces after the devastation. Just this morning I heard a story about a three-year old child still missing after the family tried to weather the storm in their bathroom. How terrifying those last few moments must have been… My thoughts and prayers are with all of those suffering right now.

It makes me want to wrap my son up in a great big hug, to tell my husband how thankful I am for him and how much I love him. To spend a little more time each day appreciating all the little things that are so easy to take for granted.

Please consider helping the victims of this storm if you can. Our local TV station has put together a list of area businesses collecting donations for the victims in Joplin, and I’m sure there will be more added to the list to help those in Arkansas. I have also heard that both the Springdale and Bentonville blood centers are asking for blood donations- particularly from those with type O- blood. Obviously I can’t give blood right now since I am pregnant, but it is a wonderful way to help out our neighbors if you are able (and you don’t need to wait until there is a disaster to give blood! I’m just sayin…)

Leave a Reply

