Thankfulness

I started this post for Thanksgiving, but didn’t have the chance to finish it. I just saw it sitting there in my drafts folder and thought it needed to be published anyways, go here goes:

I think my understanding of thankfulness has matured ten times this past year. I know how blessed I am. Even with the loss that my family recently suffered, we are so, so blessed. If you asked me what I was Thankful for last year, I probably would have given you all the cliche answers: family, health, freedom. I might even have thrown pumpkin pie into the list. And I would have sincerely meant them all. This year though, I have spent a lot more time thinking about what I am truly thankful for and appreciating every blessing. 

Family still tops my list. I am thankful for my amazing husband. Not just because he is funny and kind and sweet, but because he has been a rock for me these past several weeks. Because he has listened to me when I needed to talk, and cried with me when I needed to cry, and taken care of things around the house when I didn’t have the stregth to even get up out of bed those first few weeks. Because he has thought of me before himself. Because he loves our son and our daughter too, and is an incredible father.

I am thankful for a fantastic little boy who lights up my life everyday and constantly blows me away with all the new things he is learning and doing. How blessed am I that I get to be his mama everyday?!?!? And for the little girl that was here such a short time, but has touched our hearts for always.

I am thankful that I have parents who love me so much that they dropped everything to drive all the way from Wyoming when they knew I needed them. And brothers and sisters who, although they couldn’t be here, have helped me so much with their supportive words and prayers. And friends and relatives who cared enough to come by help with the dishes, or fix dinner, or take care of Miles, or just listen when I needed to talk to someone.

I am thankful that my husband has a good job (and that he found one so quickly after being laid off last winter) that provides us with all that we need and that I am able to be at home raising my son.

And even though we haven’t been able to sell our home like we planned, I am thankful that we don’t have  to sell our home right now. What a blessing to have a place to call our own, surrounded by some super-fantastic neighbors, I might add 🙂 

And I am thankful that I live in a country where my family is free to live and believe the way that we want to, and where my son can grow up to be anything he wants to be.

Life is good, even though sometimes it is hard to see.

Happy Thanksgiving to all.

Leave a Reply

