Pregnancy update

Woo Hoo! I just got my most recent Thyroid labs back today, and my thyroid levels actually improved since last month without any changes in my medication dose. It is really bizarre how differently my body is reacting to the pregnancy this time. I have read that some women with Hashimoto’s actually experience an improvement in their symptoms while pregnant, but most don’t and I certainly didn’t with Miles. I remember how freaked out I was last time when it took almost 9 weeks before we finally got my Thyroid levels under control and it is SO nice to not have to worry like that this time around!

I have been a bit more tired than usual, but overall the tiredness has been better than last time too. I have had a slight amount of morning sickness, but nothing more than mildly uncomfortable. In fact, the only thing I really have to complain about with this pregnancy so far is my complexion. With Munchkin, I had that beautiful, glowing skin that most pregnant women dream of, but this time has been the complete opposite, more like a junior-high complexion. Yikes! Oh, and I am really starting to show! I’ve been able to tell since about 7 weeks, but recently I have started to hear a few comments from others.

I have my first appointment with the midwife on the 16th, and I am excited to hear the baby’s heartbeat for the first time!

Here are a few projects I have been working on for baby while Muchkin naps:

We haven’t totally nailed down a name yet, but Stephen convinced me I needed to go ahead and finish the blanket so that I could enter it in the fair this year. “A” is the initial of the boy name we are leaning toward, “N” if it is a girl… that’s all I’m saying, you’ll have to wait for the surprise like everyone else:)

The pattern was inspired by a 1970’s instruction leaflet for a sampler afgan, but I took quite a few liberties with the design. It is knit in soft 100% cotton yarn with 16 different stitch patterns. I really like how it turned out, and I think the baby will really enjoy all of the textures the different stitches make.

I think I have finally perfected my baby booties! I HATE sewing up and weaving in lots of ends, so I took a basic flat-knit bootie design and reworked it so it is knit all in one piece, in the round. That way, all that needs to be done at the end is to weave in the starting and ending tail (plus a couple extras tails for the striped booties. more work, but cute enough that it is totally worth it:) I also knit the sole in garter stitch so it is thicker than the original, with more structure, and made the top cuff a bit taller so they hopefully stay on a little better.

Even had enough extra blanket yarn to whip up a few extra booties for etsy, if I ever get around to posting them!

One thought on “Pregnancy update

  1. That is wonderful about your thyroid doing so great! I for some reason seem to have better thyroid function during pregnancy too. It is so nice!

    Oh and no morning sickness! That’s awesome! In my opinion that was the hardest part of my entire pregnancy. Nothing compared to labor. I hope you continue to feel good and take care of yourself. It’s perfectly normal to be extra tired the first trimester for sure!!

Leave a Reply

