My Sunshine

Dear Sunshine,

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths that we breathe, but by the moments that take our breath away.”

June 28, 2010, the day we first learned that you would be joining our family, was one of those moments for me. Your father and I sat on the bathroom floor, my hands shaking as I held the pregnancy test . At first there was nothing, then slowly a very faint line started to appear. Was I seeing things? Was it really there? My heart was pounding as your dad assured me that he too could see the faint line. Part of me couldn’t believe that this was really happening. After all, it had been less than two months since we had decided that we were ready to try for another baby. But another part of me knew it was true even before I could see the line. Just like I had known 2 years ago when we found out about your big brother. The wait had been much longer that time, but when the time actually arrived, the same unexplainable, indescribable feeling of knowing came over me. The test was only confirmation of what I already knew was true: that our family will soon be blessed with another child, with you. I hope you will always know how wanted and loved you were from that very first moment. And that no matter what happens between now and the rest of our lives together you will always be loved. No matter what.  We haven’t yet seen your face, or held your hand, or looked into your eyes, but we know you and love you so much already. I pray that God will watch over you as you grow and develop into a strong, healthy baby, and that he will guide your Daddy, your Brother, and me as we prepare for your arrival.

Love,

Mom

One thought on “My Sunshine

  1. Pingback: Hope’s Story « Crazy Wonderful Life

Leave a Reply

