The week in pictures

The assignment that I gave myself this week was to play around with processing (I just got PSE  8, and I wanted to get a bit more familiar with using it). I started off by trying out some vintage frames and processing techniques.

We came across this old barn while out for a drive, and I just fell in love with it. The whole valley, actually:)

Yummy! I’ll have to post this recipe sometime… It was VERY good, and actually had a few redeeming qualities healthwise (no refined sugar, 1/2 ww flour, etc) Oh, and I actually MADE this frame using a photo of an old vintage postcard that I have. Pretty cool, huh?

Yesterday’s baking had me inspired…

Out driving again. We have been looking for some land to purchase, and came across this old farmhouse on 4.6 acres. It needs a lot of work (it’s a foreclosure) but I definitely see some potential. Oh yeah, and did I mention it’s CHEAP!  Don’t you think that the tree in the yard is crying out for a rope swing?? 🙂 For anyone who doesn’t know me, my dream in life is to own a small CSA farm someday. I will raise dairy goats, and free range chickens, and organic vegetables, and maybe even have a small orchard. And every Saturday through the summer, I’ll have a little stand at the farmer’s market. Someday 🙂

I will never understand why Millicent allows him to do this, but she actually seems to like it.

Yay for the first yard sales of the season! Munchkin and I were pretty excited to find these cool wooden toys- we got a train, a dump truck, and a helicopter. Oh yeah, and some boring things like clothes and shoes.

I really liked the yellow buds against the weathered wood of this old chicken coop along the side of the road.

I have a pretty busy week coming up photo-wise: A wedding, a bridal portrait session, and two teen sessions. I think I’ll keep my P365 assignment simple and just focus on portrait processing. More pictures to come!

3 thoughts on “The week in pictures

  1. You are such an amazing photographer. So you are using photo shop elements 8? I have never used photoshop. I think we are operating the same camera now (!) and I know I need to start using better software to support the camera… I’m in way over my head with this camera, totally intimidated!

    Where did you purchase your software? How are you tackling the new canon?

    LOVE love LOVE all the pics!

  2. Thank you for your sweet comment!
    I am using Photoshop Elements 8. I would TOTALLY recommend Elements over the full photoshop, especially if you have never used photoshop before. Elements has some really user-friendly features to adjust lighting, skin color, white balance, etc… and it is a fraction of the price (less than $100) Oh, and it also is great for organizing photos (you can rank them and tag them so they are easy to find later) I bought it at Best Buy, but I think you can also get it from the photoshop website. You can even do a 30 day trial if you want to try it out first. I was using a friend’s photoshop 7 before, and honestly, I haven’t found anything yet that I liked to do with PS7 that I haven’t been able to do with Elements.
    Don’t be intimidated, just practice, practice, practice! I take LOTS of pictures that go straight to the recycle bin. That’s the great thing about digital:)Take enough pics, and there are bound to be a few gems amongst them:)
    Oh, one last suggestion: go to your library and see if they have any Photoshop books, or other photography books. I wish I could remember the name of one that was at our library… it had some really good tutorials. It’s a great (free!) way to learn. Good luck, and can’t wait to see what you do with your camera!

Leave a Reply

