I think I like this daylight savings thing…

Munchkin is actually sleeping in this morning! Maybe he’ll give me a chance to put together a serious, coherent blog post:-)

Stephen and I have been thinking seriously about the next step for our family. My sisters and I are all right about a year apart in age, and Stephen and his sister are close as well. Growing up, I really enjoyed having my best friends for sisters. Especially since we were army brats and moved consistently every 2 to 3 years. Of course there were times (and still are!) when we didn’t get along, but overall, I am really glad that we were so close in age.

So that gets me thinking of Munchkin… I always pictured my children being close in age, but we are in a sort of weird position right now. For those of you who have been keeping up with this blog for a while, you will probably remember that it started as an international adoption blog. Along the way, it switched to a foster blog, then finally, we (unexpectedly!) discovered we were pregnant with Munchkin. We both still have a heart for adoption/fostering, and it is still very much a part of our future. Our original plan was to re-start all our foster care licencing when Munchkin turned one, but his delayed vaccine schedule (I don’t think I have blogged much about it- basically he is only getting one shot at a time, spaced out, instead of five or more) means that we won’t be able to start until he is two. By the time we get all of the paperwork done and can actually have children in our home, he will probably be two and a half to three. I know that we can always foster older children who are closer to Munchkin’s age (and we probably will), but I do worry about his adjustment as he gets older, especially if we are not able to adopt a child. I don’t want him to have to go through losing a brother or sister (or many brothers and sisters) all alone. I think it is SOOO important for him to have a permanent sibling bond if we are going to continue fostering.

We have also thought about trying (if it is even possible) to have another biological child in addition to fostering. We have always pictured having a large family made up of both adopted and biological children (and by large, I mean 4 or so kiddos; we’re not planning on going Duggar here…;) Anyways, the time-line is even more complicated and uncertain when we throw this into the mix. Because of Stephen’s recent job change, we had to get and individual health insurance plan which will not cover anything maternity-related for one year from the date we were approved (February 15). So, if we start trying next February, even if we were able to get pregnant within a couple of months (which doesn’t really seem likely given our prior history), Munchkin would be almost 3 before the baby was born. Which would also be right around the time we would start keeping foster kiddos, and would mean we would really have our hands full!

Sigh. Maybe I am over thinking things. Maybe we shouldn’t worry so much about the timing and just let things happen the way they are meant to happen. I so absolutely LOVE being Munchkin’s mom! I wouldn’t change a moment of it. I really want him to grow up with close sibling relationships like I had, and like Stephen had, but if he is the only child we ever have, that will be okay to.

So, what do you think? Anybody with kids that are farther apart in age want to chime in? I really don’t have any experience there, so I would love to hear your input. How about foster families who also have bio or adopted children? How do they handle losing foster siblings when they must leave?

Well I hear the Munchkin waking up now, so I will leave you with this:

Caught in the act. The boy LOVES cat food 🙂

2 thoughts on “I think I like this daylight savings thing…

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I’ll be really interested to hear how it all plays out for you. It’s so interesting how similar it is to my story: our baby is 13 months old. We’d planned to adopt through fostering, ideally at 18 months or so, but have gotten behind in our “plans” (as if you can really plan these things). I wasn’t aware about the vaccine thing; if that’s true for us, too, it’ll put a big crimp in things. We are considering more foster children, too, some time in the future. I tend to “over think” things, too, but I think that’s also what makes me a good parent. Good luck with your decision.

  2. Lise, I don’t know if it varies by state, but in Arkansas requires everyone in the household to be “up-to-date” on their vaccines in order to be approved as a foster family. That seems to be pretty vague wording to me, as it doesn’t specify which vaccines, etc… but I am assuming that the list is probably about the same as it is for school. I don’t know if there is a possibility for exemptions; we just decided that it is probably easier to wait until Munchkin is two and caught up than deal with that can of worms!

Leave a Reply

