01.02.10 Yeah, it’s been one of those days

Spent the day investigating private health insurance options when COBRA finally exceeded my suckiness threshold.

But wait, one of my resolutions was to be more thankful this year. Let’s give this a try:

  • Thank you, COBRA insurance company, for being so affordable. I mean, what unemployed family couldn’t drop over $900 a month, right?
  • Thank you also for making sure that I never have to talk to an actual human being when I attempt to call you. I never much cared for humans anyways…
  • Thank you, government, for making it so easy to apply for the new COBRA premium reduction that was recently passed. We have only had to request it about three times so far. We still haven’t recieved it, but I’m sure you’re getting around to it.
  • A big thanks to a certain ALuminum COmpAny, who shall remain nameless, for waiting until right before the holidays to lay off employees. Who doesn’t want to spend their baby’s first Christmas laid off? Besides, the holidays have made extra certain that we never have to talk to humans on the phone, which is a plus.
  • Oh, and the fact that I have to cancel the appointment I have waited several months to get with my Endocrinologist, well that’s just icing on the cake.

I feel a bit better now.

In all seriousness though, I do thank God that we are for the most part a very healthy family. I can’t imagine what we would do if we were not. According to my preliminary searching, there are at least some relatively affordable HSA’s available to healthy families looking for private insurance. The deductibles are high, (thus the affordable premiums) but fortunately we have an emergency savings account for those just-in-case moments.

2 thoughts on “01.02.10 Yeah, it’s been one of those days

  1. I am sorry! We use a HSA and it does have a high deductable but for a healthy family it does work out okay. It has def. made me search more into homeopathic and herbal remedies for common things. I bought a homeopathic kit with 100 commonly used remedies for the price of less than 2 doctor visits!

    I am sorry about the job loss! It is such a hard time of year to find out news like that too!

Leave a Reply

