The 6th day of Kindness

As walked to the store with Munchkin, I caught myself mumbling about how trashy our neighborhood has become. I’ve been doing a lot of that lately. Partly because really want to buy a house in the country instead of living here in this subdivision and now that dream is farther away than ever, but also partly because, well, our neighborhood is becoming quite trashy. Literally. There have been seven foreclosures on our little cul-de-sac street alone, and several of those are still vacant and unkempt. I have also been noticing as I walk around the neighborhood that there are tons of old fast-food wrappers, plastic bottles, candy wrappers, cans, etc… all over the sidewalks, road and adjacent lawns. This time though, instead of just walking past it all, I got a plastic bag from the store and started picking it up as I made my way home. I don’t have much of a right to complain about the neighborhood unless I’m trying to do something about it, right?:) I ended up with a whole bag full, and I wasn’t going out of my way to get trash that was way off the sidewalk either! I know that doesn’t make much of a dent in the problem,  but at least my neighborhood is that much cleaner tonight!

Leave a Reply

