Counting my blessings… and passing them along

A friend of mine over at laugh.every.day started a tradition a couple of years ago called the Twelve Days of Kindness to help her family put the focus back on what is really important during the holiday season. What a beautiful idea. I have always felt that it is important to start not only teaching, but demonstrating to our children what it means to give from a very young age, and I think this is a tradition that I would like to start incorporating into our Christmas celebrations every year as well. It is so easy to get caught up at Christmas time with all of the stuff: who has the most presents under the tree that we don’t really need, out-decorating the neighbors, parties with way too much sugary food , Santa (don’t even get me started on Santa or I might have a really scroogy post coming up:-)… and to forget that Christmas is really about giving  and, ultimately, about the gift that God gave us when he sent his Son.

I fully intended to start my own 12 days of kindness this past Monday but than some unexpected bad news came up that has really thrown our family for a loop. I probably won’t be blogging about it unless it is in a password protected post, but a few of you may already know what is going on.  The 12 Days of Kindness got shoved to the back burner, and for a while, I didn’t know if I would participate at all this year. Then I realized that I could either wallow in worry and uncertainty OR I could stop and count my blessings.  A lot of families are having a tough time this season. A much, MUCH tougher time than mine. In fact, in so many ways we are really incredibly blessed. I have a wonderful husband and the son that we prayed for for so long. We have a roof over our heads, food to eat, all the material things we need. We have our health. We have people who love care about us who have blessed us with kindness. Whe have hope and plans and opportunities for the future. Sure we may have hit a little bump in the road, but we were probably more prepared for that bump than most other families. We will be just fine.

So not only did I decide that I still need to participate in the 12 Days of Kindness, I have decided that it is more important now than ever. I am blogging about it not to pat myself on the back, but to hopefully encourage each person reading this to really, really count your blessings and then try to pass a few of them on this Christmas season.

My first day of kindness post will be coming up soon!

4 thoughts on “Counting my blessings… and passing them along

Leave a Reply

