Oh, the cuteness!

Munchkin was supposed to start his swimming lessons this weekend, but his instructor was sick. Of course, we didn’t check our phone messages, so we didn’t know that his first lesson was cancelled. Anyways, we ended up driving around over on that side of town and came across a quilt fair at a local Museum, so we stopped. There were beautiful contemporary and antique quilts of all kinds. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me (because I thought we would be swimming!) but I did notice that the Museum grounds were all decorated for the festival with pumpkins and cornstalks. I knew there were some cute pictures in there somewhere, so we went back after everyone was gone and brought the camera. Isn’t my little pumpkin precious???

The tongue thing is showing up in lots of pictures lately… he has just figured out that he can blow spit and is SO proud of himself!

This is an old water tank by the barn at the museum

I think this one is my fav:-)

and family. It takes some ingenuity to get a family picture using the self-timer when there is a baby involved…

I think I am giving up on the password protected posts for now, at least the picture ones. I still like the idea of not using our real names and of course, avoiding personal information about us, but I am just too picture happy for my own good. I keep thinking, “Oh, I would love to post this picture, but then I’ll have to add a password…” So then I just don’t post anything. Besides, I am thinking of trying to start up a photo business, and since most of my portfolio thus far is pictures of my family, I will have to use our pictures to advertise anyways… I don’t know. Maybe I will revisit the idea later. What do you guys think? Password or no password on pictures?

8 thoughts on “Oh, the cuteness!

  1. I don’t remember how I came across your blog, but I kept reading because my daughter’s about the same age (7 months tomorrow), and you do such a nice job of documenting what your son is doing, I found it very interesting to read. I was disappointed when you added the password, though of course I understood! I’m glad to be able to see photos again, though. When I started my blog, I avoided pics of my baby, but I love her pics so much, I couldn’t resist sharing them! I just try not to use anything too personal, or anything that might embarrass her some day. Thanks for being willing to share.

  2. I came across your blog through one of my friends blogs and have followed you through your pregnancy. I too, am happy to see pictures of that cute little guy again, even though I completely understood your privacy concerns. Anyway, I just wanted you to know that I’m a reader of yours and LOVED your recipe for your pasta salad (my family LOVED it too) and wondered how hard it is to make a ring sling. Thanks!

  3. Thanks for stopping by, Becca and Lise.

    Becca- Ring Slings are incredibly easy to make. Just google “how to make a ring sling” and you will find lots of instructions out there. It is basically a long rectangle of fabric approx. 30″ x 2.25 yards (shorter or longer, depending on your size), which is gathered around 2 rings on one end. If you have basic sewing skills, you should have no problem with it:-)

    And thanks for your compliment on the pasta salad, although I can’t claim it as my own recipe. I came across it on the back of a pasta package a long time ago and modified it slightly. Glad you enjoyed it though!

  4. No problem:
    I use a Canon Digital Rebel XT (an older one, but it works great!), usually with my 50mm lens or my 20-35mm lens. I’m not to keen on the kit lenses- the pictures never seem quite as sharp to me.

    For the picture with us in the background, I set up the camera on a tripod (actually, I think I proped it on a rock, but a tripod would have probably been better!) and took one picture with just Stephen and Munchkin, that way I could jump up and down and wave my arms and try to get Munchkin to sort of look in the general direction of the camera. Then, without moving the camera, I set the self timer and ran to jump in the picture. Of course, Munchkin was turned around not paying attention to the camera in that picture, so I photoshopped myself into the first one. Since the picture was taken from the same vantage point with the same camera settings, and since I was in the background and blurry anyways, it was REALLY easy to photoshop.

Leave a Reply

