37 weeks: Welcome to the waiting game!

Dear Baby,

I get an email each Sunday from babycenter.com telling me about your development this week. This morning’s email started off with “Congratulations, your Baby is now considered Full Term. Welcome to the waiting game!” I can’t believe how the time has flown since that Monday almost 9 months ago when I first found out you were on the way (although I knew even before then!) Now we could be three+ weeks or just hours away from seeing your sweet face for the first time. These last few weeks of pregnancy are intense, for sure. Emotionally, physically, mentally… It is a huge relief to know that your development is now nearly complete, and if you were born today, you would most likely thrive.

Physically, I am still feeling great. Tired usually, but otherwise great. No major complaints anyways ūüôā I was initiated into the waiting game for real last night with a couple of very intense Braxton Hicks contractions. It felt a lot like a charlie horse (which I have been very fortunate NOT to have with this pregnancy!), only across my entire abdomen. Wow. Uncomfortable much?!?! Of course, I have only¬†felt a few short, painless BH contractions since then, so I know you must not be quite ready to show up just yet. It did shake me up a little though. Yes, Jodean, this IS really about to happen!

Emotionally, well, in some ways I am SO ready to meet you, and then at the same time, I am crazy overwhelmed at the huge responsibility I am about to be entrusted with… your precious life. I think of your first moments here on the earth;¬†a tiny life full of nothing but potential… and my job is to give you the very best start possible! ¬†I promise¬† to love and care for you with all that I have. I hope that your Dad and I are able to raise you to be strong, creative, compassionate, and confident. That you will find something you love to do and do it with all your might. That even when life is hard and unfair, that you will be able to find joy in it still.¬† There is so much that I am looking forward to… holding you, teaching you, watching you grow and change, having FUN with you…

I love you so much already, my child!

Love,

Mom

waiting for a picture to put in my Christmas locket!

waiting for a picture to put in my Christmas locket!

3 thoughts on “37 weeks: Welcome to the waiting game!

  1. Wow, that is a beautiful post and photo! You have such a pretty belly! Enjoy the last few days with it; you are so close to having your baby! It could be very soon! I started having a couple of those episodes a couple of weeks before Davis came. Just relax as much as you can, and think about that sweet baby!
    I am so excited for what you are about to experience! It is truly the most emotional and beautiful thing that you will ever go through. It’s amazing that your life can change so much the moment that they place that warm, slippery life on your chest!
    I will be praying for you, the baby and Stephen! Good luck, and I can’t wait to see pictures and hear the birth story…AND find out if it is a boy or girl! Yay!
    I have finally updated my blog with Davis’ birth story!

Leave a Reply

