6 years, 32 weeks, and a bunch of randomness

6 years (and one day) ago I married the love of my life. It is hard to believe that so much time has passed! They say time flies when you are having fun 🙂 I’m sure I am a little biased, but Stephen really is the most amazing husband. In a lot of ways we are complete opposites, but I don’t think I could have dreamt up a man who more perfectly compliments me. I am a very, very lucky girl! I love you, Babe!

Here is one of our engagement pictures taken by my friend, Lesa. Aww! So young and in love.

Here is one of our engagement pictures taken by my friend, Lesa. Aww! So young and in love.

 The gift he got me for our anniversary totally rocked, by the way… the latest issue of Interweave Knits and enough soft wool yarn to get started on the awesome Pfeiffer Falls Hooded Scarf pattern! He caught me drooling over it in the magazine aisle the other day 🙂

Yesterday was also the day that baby reached 32 weeks. It won’t be much longer now! I am still generally feeling pretty good. Much better than I expected to be feeling at 8 months! I only gained about two pounds this past month, which was a little surprising with all the holiday food I have been eating lately. That puts me right at 17 lbs total with about 8 weeks left to go. Not too shabby!

I had an appointment today with the new doctor and absolutely LOVE him! The atmosphere at his clinic was totally different than what I experienced at Parkhill. The visit was a lot less rushed and much more thorough, in my opinion. The doctor really took a lot of time to talk to me about his philosophy regarding childbirth- basically to treat patients like normal, healthy women who are going to have normal, healthy babies unless something indicates otherwise- and to answer any questions I had about what to expect. He is very supportive of natural childbirth and actually encouraged Stephen and me to come up with a birth plan to discuss with him at our next visit understanding, of course, that sometimes emergencies do happen. I am so glad that I decided to switch. I’m sure the other clinic would have probably turned out fine, but  my mind is definitely more at ease now. Oh, and this may seem like a small thing, but I really appreciate that the new-mom bag that I was given with all the goodies and such was not full of formula samples, advertisements, and coupons like it was at the other clinic.  My thoughts on how some hospitals sell themselves out to the formula companies rather than encouraging breastfeeding deserves another post…

Now for the randomness: It is COLD outside! It got down around 5 degrees or so the past two nights. I’m sure all of my Wyoming family and friends reading this must think I am a wimp, but 5 degrees is a bit chilly for my liking. I made Stephen put a heat lamp out for the chickens last night because I felt so bad for them.

Speaking of the chickens, I finally caved and bought a carton of store bought eggs last week because the girls had stopped laying for the winter. Or so I thought…. It is not uncommon for chickens to slow down or stop laying entirely when there are less than 14 hrs of daylight, so we thought nothing of it when we started getting fewer eggs around Thanksgiving, and finally, none at all. It turns out they didn’t stop laying after all, they just found a really good place to hide them. I was out in the yard today and found two dozen eggs in between our leaf composter and the back corner of the fence! Sigh. And to think I have been eating those wimpy, pale store-bought eggs all week  for nothing… you really do get spoiled when you start eating fresh eggs!

I probably won’t be posting much the next few days since we will be busy with all the holiday festivities and such, so I will wish you all a wonderful Christmas!

3 thoughts on “6 years, 32 weeks, and a bunch of randomness

  1. Happy Anniversary!! What an exciting way to celebrate 6 years of marriage… with 32 weeks of pregnancy!!! YEAH! I can’t wait to see you guys… I’m coming in on Christmas Eve. I just finished up wrapping presents and am waiting up for laundry to get done. Its cold here too – with a terrible windchill. Glad I’m inside with my cat resting her head on my knee. C- you soon.

  2. I’m so glad that you found a doctor you click with. I can’t imagine going through the beginning of mommyhood with someone you didn’t fully trust. Happy Anniversary and Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

