(almost) 24 weeks

I know, two posts in one day! I even impressed myself! 🙂

Anyways, here’s a little pregnancy update and picture at almost 24 weeks:

I had an appointment this week and had to do the blood glucose test. Yuck! They gave me a choice of fruit punch or orange koolaid-like stuff, and I naively chose fruit punch. Only after I started gagging (yes, literally gagging) did the girl next to me in the waiting room inform me that I should have chosen orange. Apparently orange is much better…. anyways, they said that if I didn’t hear back from them that means everything is fine, so I guess I passed. Which is good, because I had a very naughty food day the day before when someone left chocolate chip cookies in the teacher’s lounge… I had 6 with my lunch. oops. I do really good at home because I just don’t keep junk food in the house, but when sugar is right in front of me I really have a weakness…

I have gained about 9 pounds total, but I am trying not to focus on weight–just eating healthy foods (and the occaisional cookie) when I am hungry. So far that seems to be working! Oh, and I am LOVING the prenatal yoga videos I have been checking out from the library (They can only be checked out for a week at a time, so I have been cheating and having Stephen check them out for me as soon as I turn them in. shhh!!!) I usually start out achy and heavy and sore in the morning, but if I have a chance to exercise I feel 10 times better the rest of the day.   

Oh, and the really good news: My TSH level was down to 1.21!!!! I think that is the lowest it has EVER been, and that has really been helping with the tiredness. I still prefer a nap most days, but can at least get by until 9 pm or so without one if I have to.

Let’s see, what else? Oh yes, Baby’s heart rate was down to 144 bpm which, if I remember the wives tale correctly, means it is in boy range…. hmmm…… we could have a Miles after all!

Whether we have a Miles or an E- (still not telling our girl name!), he or she is moving and kicking up a storm! Usually in the middle of the night. And usually right on my bladder… The other day Lillian (our cat) was laying against my stomach, and she was surprised with quite a kick! I wonder how she will react when there is a little one around the house getting all of her attention…

I can’t begin to explain how much we already love this little one. We are so, so happy that he or she is in our lives, and can’t wait until we meet face to face. We still feel a lot of anticipation about meeting our child for the first time, just like we did while we were waiting for a referral, but in many ways our wait now is very different. Of course, the time line is a bit (or a lot!) more predictable, but even more than that there is an incredible peace in feeling the baby kick, or knowing that the baby can hear my  voice and feel my movements. It gives me new perspective and really makes me ache for those of you who have endured (or are still enduring!) the wait knowing your child is halfway around the world…

In many ways I think I never fully let myself believe the adoption was really going to happen. I hoped and prayed that it would, but I guess I didn’t want to put myself in a position where I was vulnerable to a let-down if it didn’t. I think that feeling carried over during the first few months of pregnancy as well. I just didn’t really feel like it was real. Recently, I have started to let my guard down and really enjoy being pregnant. A few times it has even hit me that February will be here before we know it!

We never guessed this would be the path that God would chose for our family, and still don’t know what the future holds, but we are so incredibly happy to be where we are right now! We love you, Little One!

6 thoughts on “(almost) 24 weeks

  1. great update! you are really starting to pop now…its about time! 🙂

    i am glad that you are feeling good and that your levels are so low. sounds like you are going to have a busy baby on your hands! did i tell you my theory on babies personalities in the womb being exactly what they are like once outside? i can’t remember if it was you or not?! anyway, savannah was wild and busy in the womb and addie was very laid back and chill…the same way they are today!

  2. The orange flavor is NOT any better, that stuff made me sick! Glad to hear everything is going good. I can’t wait to see the baby, which hospital are you having it at?

  3. What a great update! I’m glad you’re doing so well and that your TSH is down. That’s really good news. I’m also glad to hear that you’re able to let your guard down and be excited now. I do understand why you felt that way. And by the way (please take this the right way), you look WAY too good at 24 months pregnant! 🙂

  4. Hey glowing momma! You look great. I’m so behind on reading posts, but I’m glad to hear everything is going so well. Can’t wait to see his/her face!!

Leave a Reply

