Too stinkin cute….

I have been trying to work on a few things for my Etsy site and a craft fair that my mom is participating in next week, but I think I will have to keep this one for Baby…

… because, is there anything cuter than a baby in a fuzzy earflap hat? Seriously? 🙂

The earflap hats that I have made in the past (remember this one) have all required blocking to keep the flaps from curling up, so I decided to make them with a garter stitch rather than stockinette stitch on this one to alleviate the problem. I really like how it turned out! Plus, the garter stitch makes the flaps a bit thicker than the rest of the hat- perfect fot keeping little ears warm. It is made with a super-soft alpaca blend yarn that is just delicious…  Here’s a close up in case you don’t believe me:

I had some yarn leftover after making the hat, and thought it looked about right for a pair of little matching mittens. I ended up about a YARD short (grrrr!!!!!!) and had to buy another skein to finish them. I think the yarn companies must do it on purpose somehow because that always seems to happen…..

Oh, and as if I don’t have enough projects to keep me busy in my spare time, here is something else I have been working on this past week…

The third grade classes are working on a geography unit and the teachers asked me to do a map project with the kids. We did flour-paste batiks, and after the kids dyed them, I brought all SEVENTY-FIVE of them home to hand-wash the paste off. I soaked them in the bathtub and, needless to say, my bathroom is a MESS right now, but they did look lovely all hanging on the line to dry!

One thought on “Too stinkin cute….

  1. you are right…those are SO stinkin’ cute!!

    and i love the art projects!!

    this year in pre-k, they have art class. savannah is going nuts!! she is learning so many amazing things…and at such a young age! the girl can sit and color and draw for hours at a time. i have no idea what to do with all of her stuff!

    the first project she did in class was chosen for an art show!! i am was so proud of her and she was not happy at all. she didn’t understand why everyone else got to bring their art home and she did not!! too funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

