house lust…

So there is this adorable house that I drive past everyday on my way to Rogers for work. It sits on just over 2 acres with a mini apple orchard (about 8 trees or so), a fenced yard, small barn (hmm…chicken coop?), and shop building. Did I mention it is for sale? And that it has been for over a year now? And that the apple trees are so laden with beautiful ripe, red apples that the branches nearly touch the ground? Oh yeah, and that the town has sort of built up around it so that it is conveniently close to everything, including being just about 3 miles or so from the bypass? I seriously drool everytime I pass it….

…anyways, this week I noticed a sign out in front that said “Apples for sale- you pick.” Of course I had to stop. The woman who owns the house was selling the apples for-get this-$3 for as many as you can stuff in a Walmart sack (which, by the way, is ALOT). They aren’t the prettiest apples but they are oh-so-tasty, and I will gladly cut out a few spots if I have to in order to avoid the pesticides most apples are grown with. Looks like I have some more canning to do this week… more apple butter, and I think I will do some sugar-free applesauce for Baby. If you live in the area, you should definitely go get yourself some apples. Leave me a comment or email me and I will give you the details.

After picking three bulging sacks of apples, we struck up a conversation with the sweet older lady that owns the place, and asked her about the house. Of course, if it looks too good to be true, it probably is… $329,000… yikes! That really isn’t a bad deal at all, especially considering the location, but it just isn’t anywhere close to feasible for us. Unfortunately, talking to the lady only managed to intensify my house lust. And then Stephen found out that the shop building is all set up for an automotive paint-booth and that it comes with the old El Camino that is sitting in the yard (most people probably wouldn’t care for an old rust-bucket in the yard, but to Stephen, this is a very, very good thing). So now Stephen has a case of the house lust too… And then, as if to rub salt in the wound, the lady mentioned that the reason she is looking to move is that the place is just too big for her and her dog, and proceded to describe the house she was looking to move into: a 1500 sq ft-or-so house in a subdivision in town with friendly neighbors and a small, fenced yard. That’s OUR house! Maybe she’d be up for a trade 🙂

Stop it, Jodean… be reasonable, be practical… there is just no way you can afford that house.

It’s okay to dream though, right? 🙂

Anyways, here are some of the lovely apples I got today:

And, just because, here is the DELICIOUS sourdough bread I baked the other day (with homemade applebutter and peach-pineapple jam, of course!) It didn’t last long…

All house-lust aside, we really have been thinking of moving a lot lately. I really want my children to have an opportunity to grow up in the country instead of a cramped town lot, and wouldn’t mind a bit of elbow room myself either! I know the house with the apple orchard is out of our league, but we do have quite a bit of equity in our home and that leaves us with some other options. Our (ultimate/much more affordable/borderline-crazy) plan is to sell our house (probably not happening in the near future though, with the market and all…) and buy a certain bit of land that we know of out near Huntsville to build on (it’s not going anywhere unless we decide to buy it). If we waited to build until our current house sold and then lived in a certain free travel-trailer that was given to us for a while until we could build a modest, smaller home, we could maybe, almost do it debt free. And that would be nice. Really nice. Of course, I’m not sure what the in-laws would think of us temporarily living in a 16 foot travel trailer with Baby… It could be interesting. We’ll see!

9 thoughts on “house lust…

  1. Yikes I want to live near you! The house sounds wonderful but wow the apple orchard–mmm. There is nothing better than fresh picked apples. I am sad that I haven’t found an orchard where I live. It is a strange strange thing at least in my opinion. Fall isn’t complete without apple picking!

    Enjoy! 🙂

  2. If you can swing some time in a trailer with baby (that sounds so funny), BUILD. Seriously- it’ll be worth it. We are starting that process for our move back to the US in the country over the next few years. Drop me an email if you want to chat about it 🙂

  3. Hey! I’m trying to organize a moment of prayer tonight at 8 pm to pray for Gina to get G&R soon! She’s been waiting ten months… Help me get the word out!

  4. Those apples look SO good. Apples are one of my favorite fruits. Um, where do you live? That’s a good price around here for a decent sized house with NO property whatsoever! I’m a little green with envy. 🙂 And how can we get a little of that awesome domesticity to rub off on me? I’m always so impressed with the things you do – canning and whatnot. I can’t even boil water. Be glad you don’t live near me. I think I’d be hanging around you on the weekends, hoping to pick a few things up.

  5. who cares what the inlaws think… if you, Stephen, and Baby can handle the tight space is what counts…. BTW, they lived in a little house (all of us in one huge, subdivided bedroom) for years to save for their dream home.
    Debt free sounds really good…..

  6. Hi! I can’t believe I found your blog! Zach was literally just talking about you guys this morning.

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! We were so excited for you when we heard.

    Zach’s parents have some apple trees on their land, and I picked a TON of apples. I was wondering what your apple butter recipe was. I have been wanting to make some, but kind of put it on hold. I am also wanting to make some applesauce too. Our kids love applesauce!

    Anyway, I just thought I would say hi. I’m glad I found you!
    ~Kim Williamson

Leave a Reply

