On a lighter note:

I woke up today, and the migraine I have had for the past two days was gone, so that’s a good thing. And I’m really lovin my new 137mcgs of Synthroid. I feel so much more energetic! I have actually been getting up and sewing in the middle of the night because I can’t sleep.  Here are some of the diapers I finally finished during one of my midnight sewing frenzies. They are one-size-fits-all adjustable pocket diapers, (meaning there is a pocket between the outer waterproof layer and the inner fleece layer that can be stuffed with a cloth soaker or folded up cloth diaper so that the diaper is “all-in-one” and can be used basically like a disposable would. Only not. Because, since it is washable and reusable, you are keeping tons of non-biodegradable waste from entering the landfill=) and this is the smallest size. I am still a little hesitant that they will fit a newborn, but we shall see.

I think they turned out rather cute! I need to get a little more elastic before I can finish the rest of them, but I have about 13 or so of them done. I think I am going to work on some dresses today just in case I am right and Baby is a girl=)

Whatever Baby turns out to be, s/he is still fond of oranage vegatables, and recently I have started craving anything seasoned with curry powder as well. I think we had curry in some form or fashion for just about every meal last week! Thankfully, Stephen is a good sport and will eat pretty much anything I put in front of him!

The strangest recipe I tried last week: Butternut Squash and Apple Soup (It’s really good, I promise!)

2-2 1/2 lbs. butternut squash (the original recipe called for acorn squash but I used what I had!)

1Tbs olive oil

1 chopped onion

1 chopped celery stalk

2 tart green apples, peeled, cored and chopped

1/4 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp curry powder

4 cups reduced sodium chicken or vegetable broth

Cut squash in half and microwave on high about 15 minutes, or until tender. Cool. Meanwhile, heat oil in a soup pot over medium heat. Cook onions, apples, and celery about 5 minutes, until tender. Season lightly with salt and pepper. Add cumin and curry powder and cook 2 more minutes. Remove seeds from the squash (and feed them to the chickens!) and scoop the squash into the soup pot and cook for a couple more minutes. Blend ingredients with a hand-held blender adding broth gradually until soup reaches desired consistancy. Season with salt and pepper and serve with a dollop of sour cream or plain yogurt.

Yum!

13 thoughts on “On a lighter note:

  1. Glad the migraine is gone… and that you’re feeling more energized. I hope you can get more sleep when you are wanting it though. 🙂

    Here is a curry recipe that a friend of mine from India showed me – It’s vegetarian and great over rice.
    1-2 Tab oil (Canola)
    1 teas. Cumin whole seeds
    1 teas. mustard seeds (black or yellow)
    1-2 Tab Curry powder (depending on your taste)
    1 teas. Coriander powder (or additional curry powder – mild)
    1/4 – 1/2 teas garam masala (optional – adds kick)
    1 small onion chopped
    1-2 cloves of garlic (depends on your taste)
    1 can of stewed tomatoes (petite diced is better)
    1 can chickpeas/garbanzo beans
    1 can tomato sauce

    Start with oil in a large skillet or wok with a lid – on hi heat. When oil is hot (water drop sizzles), add cumin and mustard seeds. Let them pop open – kinda like pop-corn but not burn. Use lid to as sheild and reduce heat to med-hi. Add onions and garlic. Cook until they start to get transluescent and then add rest of spices and pan fry it for 30 to 60 sec. Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, and garbanzo beans. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
    Bring to a light boil and then let simmer – 10-20 minutes? (until the garbanzo beans are your desired softness and the tomato “gravy” is your desired consistency. Add water to extend cooking time – it will easily evaporate out)

    Hope you enjoy it…. you might want to play with the curry amounts – I usually use the other spices in larger amounts (Corriander, cumin, mustard seeds, garam masala, and tumeric) and use curry powder only as a finisher to get the flavor right.
    A great You tube site for Indian cuisine is “Manjulaskitchen” – she provides a variety of different stuff. mmmm!
    XO – Melissa

  2. Those diapers are too cute! And that recipe looks great too. I think I’ll try it in a few more weeks when it gets a bit cooler around here. If you’re craving curry and aren’t afraid of apples in your soup, you may like this this recipe for Mulligatawny Soup I found a couple of years ago: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Mulligatawny-Soup-I/Detail.aspx I always add more curry powder and chicken, and I use brown rice. But it is SO good. Also, I have a recipe for a curry-style red lentil and butternut squash (or any similar squash) stew on my blog in the Recipe Box. We love it!

  3. Where did you get the pattern for those? They are the cutest and I am wanting to use cloth as well. Buying them is so darn expensive!

  4. Those diapers look fabulous! 🙂 Love the colors! Where did you find supplies for making them? I have been wondering if online is the only place to find the water proof type fabrics.

    Glad you are feeling better also!

  5. Olivia- a friend of mine came up with the pattern after dissecting a cloth diaper she bought online. I would be happy to trace out the pattern for you and help you put some together if you would like. I’ll send you the pattern via school mail on monday=)

    Jessica- we bought the fabric at http://diaperfabric.com/category/cloth-diaper-fabric/
    I didn’t even bother looking locally because all we have around here for fabric is Hancock and Hobby Lobby.

  6. I am FINALLY catching up on blogs and I LOVE the diapers that you made…I want to make mine especially with the cost of one diaper at $17 a diaper and higher for ones that are not as cute as the ones you made…where did you find the pattern? What materials did you use? Oh I should so e-mail you!

  7. The diapers are so cute! I still use some of the cloth diapers that I wore as a baby when I clean house. They make great dusting cloths! I’m almost 35, so I’d say that they are pretty long lasting too!

Leave a Reply

