My Stephen

Let me preface what I am about to say by saying that my husband is the most wonderful man on earth and I know that he will make a terrific father:-) Nevertheless, he is absolutely, positively TERRIFIED of newborns! To be fair, he really hasn’t been around that many tiny babies and he really got used to the idea of a toddler (we both did!) when we were trying to adopt. Compared to a rambunctious toddler, I guess a newborn does seem a bit delicate… The only time I have ever seen Stephen hold a tiny baby was when my sis visited with our niece back in January. Jeanien needed someone to hold the baby for a minute and practically shoved her in Stephen’s arms before he had a chance to protest. Oh, if you could have seen the look of terror on his face…

Anyways, today a new mom at our church asked Stephen if he wanted to hold her little girl and I was expecting the usual reaction from him: eyes wide with fear and voice faltering, he would politely decline and then run as fast as he could in the opposite direction, preferably towards a female-and-baby-free-zone like the men’s restroom. Instead he agreed and took the little baby in his arms. Granted, he did look a little awkward at first, but after a minute he relaxed. It was really beautiful to see him holding her, smiling down at her. One of those moments that really gives you the warm fuzzies:-) I am anticipating lots of milestones and firsts with the baby, but more than anything, I can’t wait to see Stephen be a daddy to our little one.

Speaking of Stephen, he just got a new guitar today! He had some money saved up from the Volkswagen swap meet last weekend where he got rid of a bunch old parts from his VW collection. (Oh, you didn’t know we were VW enthusiasts? Yes, we actually had EIGHT Volkswagens at one point… unfortunately, only one of them ever ran and it only made it a whopping 15 or so miles before the engine blew up.  We have since worked our way down to just 3…) Stephen actually made about $900 at the swap meet! Who knew people would actually buy that junk?!?!? 🙂

Anyways, Stephen has been looking at guitars for a while now, and since he *made* me buy the new sewing machine a while back, I talked him into spending a little bit of his money on something fun. He taught me a couple of chords on his old guitar when we got home, and we had a really fun afternoon rocking out! Ha! I may have had 8 years of piano growing up, but there isn’t a musical bone in my body!  I know Babycenter.com says Baby’s ears won’t finish developing for a couple more weeks, but I promise I could feel him/her moving when I was singing! Maybe it was in protest? 🙂

3 thoughts on “My Stephen

  1. Aww – I’m proud of my little bro! You’re right, he will make an incredible dad…. and you, an incredible mom. I’m also excited that you’re feeling some movement from my little neice/nephew…. especially with the music! He/she will definitely be gifted in that area! 🙂
    Congrats on getting rid of some VW stuff. Good job on the positive reinforcement too – Stephen getting to spend a portion on fun stuff may motivate him to sell more…. well, in theory it works – I just don’t know if it works with Brannan packrats 😉
    Thought of you as I opened a jar of your pumpkin/apple butter yesterday – mmmm good!

Leave a Reply

