Woo Hoo!

The nurse practitioner just called with my Thyroid results and they were much better than before! My TSH is down to 4.75 (from 7.5) Now if we can just get it down a bit more… it should be somewhere between 1-2. My T4 levels were actually not too shabby, about 1.21. I will start on 137 mcg of Synthroid tomorrow, and probably up it to 150 in four weeks, which is almost double what I was on to start with! Sorry about all of the Thyroid speak, but I am feeling very, very relieved that I finally have a doctor that I can work with and it looks like we are going to get this thing under control 🙂

While we are on the subject of health, I thought some of you might be interested in a blog post over at one of my new favorite blogs, Keeper of the Home. She has posted the first of a series of posts on living with PCOS and managing it naturally. This is a topic that I have really been interested in ever since I was diagnosed a couple years back, and I am looking forward to reading more of what she has to say about it. When I was diagnosed, my (former) endocrinologist ond OB/GYN immediately started perscribing bc pills, anti-testosterone medications, acne medications, ect… I was already taking the thyroid medication and I decided that I didn’t want add more and more pills to my daily routine. After about one month, I ditched all the meds except for my thyroid (having my thyroid under control actually helps with the PCOS symtoms) and started focusing on living a healthier lifestyle instead (something neither of my doctors even discussed with me)- nothing drastic, just watching what I eat, exercising (and not even that regularly), getting plenty of sleep, reducing stress… My period returned to a relatively normal cycle (most of the time!) on it’s own within a couple of months and now, I have a little one on the way! I am living proof that PCOS can be managed without tons of medication!

3 thoughts on “Woo Hoo!

  1. I totally agree – while I do not have a little one on the way (for more reasons that PCOS) I have yet to go on any meds and would say no if they tried. I will have to check the blog you found out!! So glad to hear good news about the thyroid!

Leave a Reply

