Come on people, spay or neuter your pets!

Before I get started on my soapbox…

To all you local folks: we have a sweet, VERY affectionate female stray kitten who is in need of a good home. We rescued her yesterday evening from a bunch of neighborhood boys who were planning to throw her down a storm drain for kicks, and she is hanging out in our bathroom for the time being until we can find her a good home. There is just no way we can have four cats around here… Anyways, she appears to be around 8-9 weeks old or so, but I am no expert. She is a grey tabby with beautiful green-gold eyes. She isn’t shy at all, loves to be held and cuddled, and will sit in your lap and purr for hours. She loves to play, but seems to be very gentle and has not once used her claws on us while playing. I bet she would make a great cat around kids, or even other animals (she has been getting along great with two of our three cats. Toby can be difficult…) She is skinny, but appears to be free of fleas and mites. If you are interested in her, please email me at jodeanbrannan@yahoo.com. Taking her to the shelter is our absolute last resort, and we hope to be able to find her a family so that doesn’t happen. In fact, if you are interested, I would be willing to personally pay for her to be spayed. Let me know if you are interested!

I will update this post with pictures as soon as Stephen gets home with my camera.

Alright, back to my soapbox…

Did you know that of the 6-8 million unwanted pets who will enter a shelter this year, only half will be reclaimed or adopted? The remaining 3-4 million dogs and cats will be euthanized because many shelters are simply too full to take in any more animals. And that number doesn’t even take into consideration the stray animals that die from disease, after being run over by a car, attacked by another animal, tormented by teenage boys… Please, please do your part and have your pets spayed or neutered.

4 thoughts on “Come on people, spay or neuter your pets!

  1. There are so many resources that there should be no excuse for not spaying and neutering your animal. I applaud you for helping this one kitten and for helping countless others by reminding of the importance of sterilization.

  2. Oh yeah, move over so I can climb on your soap box with you! That drives me nuts! We used to volunteer at a no-kill shelter and I can’t decide which enrages me more, people not spaying and neutering or people who buy animals from puppy mills. Good luck with the sweet kitten… Hope you’re feeling okay. (Oh, I am cut off from adopting animals after our two dogs and two cats… 🙂

Leave a Reply

