It’s raining, it’s pouring…

…and I just remembered I had laundry out on the line (yeah. from yesterday afternoon). Great. Fortunately it was dry overnight, and it just started raining, so I remembered before it got too wet. This is pretty typical of me by the way… I can be a little scatterbrained sometimes=)

Anyways, we had our first foster home walk through yesterday. Everything looks good. We already have a crib, but we are planning to get a couple of twin beds as well, and I think we may switch the office to the smaller room so we have a bigger room for the kids. Or move the office entirely into our room and have two rooms for the kids. But we still have a couple months before we have to worry about that… After the walk through, which only lasted a few minutes (they basically just wanted to get an idea of the layout of the home), we had some paper work to fill out. And lots of it! An application, background check forms, driving record check forms, and a 14 page short-answer questionaire about our family. I think there were some other ones too… basically we spent all afternoon filling out paperwork, and we still aren’t done! Once our state background check comes back, we will be able to begin the 6 week training program.

Oh, and we found out that we may be able to just have our IA homestudy updated and use that since it is still current… they are going to double check and get back with us. That would be nice! 

So, we are one step closer. The social worker who visited us was very nice, but I am glad to at least have one home visit over with. I always get so nervous. (I guess I need to get used to it, because as foster parents we will have quarterly home visits as a minimum, and even more once we actually have children in our home).  Parenting is such a deeply personal thing, I guess it just makes me uncomfortable to have my ablility to parent a child under such close scrutiny. But I understand that it for the safety of the children and I am glad to know that is a priority for our local DHS. But I digress…

I am excited to be moving forward and making progress! And I can’t wait to see what is in store…

Stephen has family in for Memorial Day, so we are going to drive out to his Aunt’s cabin on the White River (yes, his Aunt is fancy-schmancy like that=) this afternoon. They just finished building it, so I’m guessing she wants to show off a bit=) I think we may go camping Sunday night as well, probably back to the same spot as last week, but without all of the teenage girls! We are also trying to get a bunch of yard work done while Stephen is off work (although the rain is making that a bit difficult!), as well as some much-needed maintenance work on our vehicles. My check engine light has been on now since March (yikes!), so Stephen is going to put on a new O2 sensor for me. And some new tires. Lots to do!

I hope you all have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend! I know Lillian is…

3 thoughts on “It’s raining, it’s pouring…

  1. Wow- sounds like the next few months are going to be b-u-s-y! How many children will you foster?

    Awesome picture of kitty!

  2. yea…i am glad everything went well with the walk through and that you are gradually starting to make progress! that would be GREAT if you would use the same home study!

    hope you guys enjoy your action-packed weekend!!

Leave a Reply

