"Art washes away from the sould the dust of everyday life" -Pablo Picasso

Nothing like a bit of kids’ art to brighten the day! I spent last week matting/hanging nearly 500 pieces of artwork. Of course I must acknowledge the parents that lent a hand as well as my dear, sweet husband who was up until 2 am at least one night helping me=) The work is now hung for my school’s first ever art show. (Which was supposed to be last night, but has been postponed due to inclement weather) Anyways, I am hoping that the tape will hold until next Tuesday which is the official new date of our first ever art show. In the meantime, here is a sneak peek=) I am always amazed at what the kids are able to do when you turn them loose with a few art supplies….

I was glad to have so much to keep me occupied last week, because it was one of those weeks that I was feeling pretty down adoption-wise. And frustrated, but I won’t go into all of that here… I’m one of those types that is always letting my emotions get me carried away, getting my hopes up only to have them come smashing back down a bit later. Some of us just never learn=) I keep telling myself that all of this waiting and wondering will be worth it when our little one finally joins our family, and that doors will open when the time is right, but some weeks it’s just hard to believe that it will ever happen. I think a lot of it is the just not knowing. And not having any control=)

The Dossier is coming along. We got a little held up because we had to order a copy of our marriage liscence from vital records in Little Rock, and they are taking their sweet time… but other than that only thing left is our home study addendum, which I’m pretty sure is just about done, and a letter from the police department. I know, I know, the police department is just a mile or two down the road, but I work all the way in Rogers and it is really hard to get there before they close at 5! And I was at school late every day last week matting artwork…
Speaking of the home study addendum, we are now officially waiting for a toddler up to 3 1/2 years old, healthy or special needs, and we could not be more excited! We originally planned to adopt an infant, but God started tugging at our hearts to adopt an older child within weeks of finishing our home study. We began to consider the possibility but still, we stubbornly clung to our dreams of an infant until recently when, after MUCH thought, prayer, and research we decided that this was the right path for our family. We realize that adopting a toddler will bring many challenges, but we are committed to learning and facing these challenges together. Visiting with my toddler nephews a couple of weeks ago sealed the deal. Now we just can’t figure out why took us so long to finally reach this decision!
In other completely unrelated news, yesterday I turned one-quarter of a century old. Since the art show was cancelled and it was VERY cold outside (for Arkansas anyways=), we just enjoyed a nice cozy evening at home. Thanks Melissa for the yummy pomegranate tea! There is nothing like hot tea on a cold January night! And thanks Stephen for the ipod loaded with all my favorite songs, even though I told you not to spend any money on me! (In Stephen’s defense, it is a refurbished ipod. We are saving, after all πŸ˜‰ In all it was a truly wonderful birthday!
in my new birthday sweater, listening to my new ipod with my sweet kitty, Miss Lillian
I couldn’t ask for anything more! Well, except maybe a referral…
7 thoughts on “"Art washes away from the sould the dust of everyday life" -Pablo Picasso

  1. Happy Birthday!
    Congrats on the decision,too. Funny how what makes sense comes when we least expect it πŸ™‚
    I love the artwork, especially the one on the bottom left!

  2. Happy Birthday!!!

    I completely understand what you are saying about toddler adoption. We too felt like we were being “tugged” that way for almost a year! When we finally made our decision to adopt a toddler, I was so relieved and finally felt like everything was as it should be. It truly is amazing! Good luck with everything.

  3. Happy belated birthday!!! So how cold was it? It’s below zero here and if you count windchill, even colder than that.

  4. kathryn,
    It hasn’t been quite that cold! But lows in the teens/single digits and highs in the 20s is well below average here! It’s supposed to be up around 60 by Sunday though!

  5. happy birthday!! hopefully by your next birthday, you will have the little guy home πŸ™‚

    thanks for sharing the kids art work…it always puts a smile on my face!

Leave a Reply

