And there goes half a year….

Today was a hard day. Jeanien and her kids left this morning to drive back to Louisiana, and my house was MUCH too quiet with them gone. I sure am going to miss having those little ones around. I kept finding little reminders of the kids as I cleaned the house this afternoon. Just a bit ago, I unloaded the dryer and a tiny little sock fell out. Sniff. They just seem to grow up so fast when we only get to see them once or twice a year. If you aren’t all completely tired of pictures by now, here are a few more:

Also making today difficult was the fact that yesterday officially marked 6 months since we were added to the waiting list. As in HALF OF A YEAR. Reaching month #6 just makes it feel like it has been so long. I don’t even want to think about the fact that we have just barely made a dent in our estimated wait. But we are getting there, slowly but surely. Spending time with my sisters’ kids these past two weeks has been amazing and has definitely reassured us that every bit of the wait will be worth it when we are finally united with our precious little one. Kids are just amazing!

As for the Dossier, we are not quite as speedy as the Beihoffer’s who may have quite possibly set a new paperchase speed record, but we are getting there=) Still waiting on our home study addendum and marriage certificate which we had to order from Vital records in Little Rock. Oh, and a doctor’s appointment on Tuesday.

4 thoughts on “And there goes half a year….

  1. Congrats on half a year down! That 6-month mark was very hard for me too. In fact, I think that was the lowest point for me throughout this entire adoption process…although I don’t know why. Something about “half a year” makes it really hit home. Hang in there, the time will pass before you know it. It seems to have gotten a little bit easier for us, but the 12 month mark is looming close on the horizen…I’m not sure how I feel about that one…

    As for the dossier–I don’t think I ever want to do anything that fast ever again!! It does feel good to have most of the chasing part done…but now I feel like I need a vacation 🙂 Good luck with all the paperwork!

  2. The pictures are beautiful! I love the shots of your nephew with the hat. What a cutie.

    Hang in there, it will happen. The adoption process is a crazy ride; just vent about the frustrations when you need to. best wishes

  3. Looking at those photos, beyond the beautiful kiddos, I can’t help but be jealous that you don’t have any snow on the ground! We got about 6 more inches overnight.

    I hope the rest of the paperwork goes speedy!!

Leave a Reply

