Gnarled Oak Cardi- finished!

I finished knitting my Gnarled Oak cardi at the beginning of the summer, and finally got around to weaving ends/adding buttons/ blocking etc… In August (so I could enter it in the county fair. It won a blue ribbon:) )

So, the middle of a heat wave is not the best time to finish a cozy, warm alpaca sweater, but this past weekend it actually cooled off enough to get it out and wear it for the first time. Woo hoo! Here it is:

Details:
Pattern: Gnarled Oak Cardigan by Alana Dakos from the book Coastal Knits
Yarn: Knitpicks Andean Treasure in Prairie Heather (mmmmm, baby alpaca! so soft!)
Modifications: almost none. I did lengthen the sleeves by a couple of inches since most patterns tend to run a bit short on my arms.

I love how it turned out! The stockintte stitch knit up fast, and the leaf pattern on the yoke was a lot of fun and just enough of a challenge to keep it interesting. This one will get a lot of wear this fall, for sure!

8 thoughts on “Gnarled Oak Cardi- finished!

  1. I’ve knitted two other patterns from Coastal Knits and have been eyeing Gnarled Oak for a while. Glad yours turned out so nicely.

  2. Hi Jodean!

    Thank you so much for making my Gnarled Oak Cardigan. Could I please share your gorgeous photos on my blog? I would love to share them with my blog readers.

    Please email me. nevernotknitting at gmail dot com

    Thanks again!

    Alana Dakos

Leave a Reply

